Club structure

Our club is organised into the Learn to Dive Beginner (LTD) Classes and Squads. The pathway begins with our Beginner Grading System and progresses all the way up to the Junior Elite level as shown below for lessons commencing in 2024.

  1. Grades 1-4 
  2. Diving New Zealand Skills Levels 1-3 
  3. NZ Age Group 
  4. FINA Junior Elite 

Grades 1-4

Grades 1 - 4 are worked on in the following classes

  • Grade 1/2 class
  • Grade 3/4 class

These grades develop a fundamental diving technique. The grades are attached to this page showing which skills are taught to our grades divers.

DNZ Skills Testing Level 1, 2 and 3

Diving New Zealand's Skills Levels Series can be competed locally and domestically around New Zealand. The pinnacle event the annual Nationals Skills Event which is held in either Auckland, Hamilton, Wellington or Dunedin. Divers are awarded with either Bronze, Silver or Gold ribbons for their performances.

  • Skills Level 1, 2 and 3 is the focus of both 11&U and 12&O Skills Squad

Scores for Skills ribbons

Bronze 75 – 97.45     (Avg 5.0 & above)
Silver   97.5 – 112.45    (Avg 6.5 & above)
Gold 112.5 and above   (Avg 7.5 & above)

NZ Age-Group

Divers then move out of the Skills program and progress into NZ Age-Group lists, which is where the diver comes up with their own 'lists' which are competed in events locally and domestically around New Zealand. There are medals for the top 3 divers in each event. Divers with NZ Age Group lists can also be selected by Diving New Zealand compete in entry-level international competitions in Australia. 

NZ Age Groups are as follows:

Group A: 16 - 18 years old at 31st Dec

Group B: 14 - 15 years old at 31st Dec

Group C: 12 - 13 years old at 31st Dec

Group D: 11 years and under at 31st Dec

Fina Junior Elite Lists

To progress further, divers can learn FINA Junior Elite Lists. These lists are recognized internationally, therefore allows divers to be selected to attend international events world wide. FINA is the world governing body for aquatic sports. FINA Junior Elite divers are categorized into the A, B, C categories as per NZ Age-Group rules (however, there is no Group D). 

FINA World Junior Diving Championships is the highest event for FINA Junior divers which is held every two years. This event is the Junior version of the FINA World Championships, which is a senior event equivalent to the Olympics.